Just in time for Autumn …

It was only last week that we were still basking in the lovely warmth of what seemed like an endless Indian summer and I was honestly beginning to wonder if autumn would ever arrive. But in true Melbourne fashion the weather has turned abruptly, like a slap in the face, and has brought a very wet and very cold start to the season that has had me reaching for the winter woollies … finally.

Autumn is my favourite season for many reasons. It’s the time when I get a chance to spend more time getting creative, and this creativity usually translates to knitting projects. I began knitting a jumper for Hudson way back in February and got a little neglectful about it, but over the last weekend when the mercury really dropped, something clicked and I just found myself in a bit of a knitting frenzy that led to the completion of said jumper … just in time for autumn.

I’d never knitted pet apparel before so this was a new knitting challenge for me and I am so pleased with the end result. Hudson seems to enjoy wearing it, but what makes this piece even more special is the fact that the wool once belonged to my late mother in law who simply adored Hudson. I consider it a lovely reminder of her every time he wears it …. it’s almost like getting a lovely, cozy hug from his grandma, and that without doubt is a wonderful thing.

Leave a Reply

