Last days of autumn

Winter is almost upon us here in Melbourne and my attention of late has turned to pottering about the garden; whether it has been turning the soil to make way for a new crop of vegetables or giving the yard a good tidy up as everything prepares to go dormant for the season.

Usually the turning of the leaves is best indicator that Autumn has arrived but with all the mild weather we have been experiencing that transition has taken a little longer than expected. And this indicator for me has always been my maple tree.

It’s has only been in the last couple of weeks that I have noticed this dramatic change, the leaves going from the most vibrant green to the flame orange-red leaves I relish to see, and it has not disappointed. The only problem is that this vision only lasts for a very little while. So, in order to capture this moment I decided to snap as often as I could the tree transitioning right up until this past weekend when my dear husband and I spent a good portion of the day clearing the garden and collecting the leaves…and what a joy it was.

Here are some of my favourite pictures that capture my perspective because before we know it Winter will be upon us and all will be bare until Spring. But that’s OK, because with that season brings gatherings over a bonfire, drinking lots of cider and indulging in a good dose of comfort food that always warms my heart…not to mention it also marks the beginning of a new knitting project that will definitely keep this crafter busy as the mercury drops.

The Maple in all it's glory.
The Maple in all it’s glory.
Hudson playing amongst the leaves.
Hudson playing amongst the leaves.
Rich autumnal hues of the Maple.
Rich autumnal hues of the Maple.
Taking a break ... Hudson post-op in the yard helping out Dad!
Taking a break … Hudson post-op in the yard helping out Dad!
Falling leaves ... playtime for Hudson and Stuart.
Falling leaves … playtime for Hudson and Stuart.
Grow my pretties...purple carrots and parsnips in their infancy!
Grow my pretties…purple carrots and parsnips in their infancy!
All that remains...
All that remains…
Leave a Reply

