Prelude to Autumn

I love March. It truly sets the tone for wonderful things to come, not just because it’s my birthday month, it also marks the beginning of my favourite season which heralds cooler nights, comfort food and layers…lots and lots of lovely layers. With that in mind I find it’s also the perfect time to reassess, reassess my wardrobe that is. So to get that process in motion I found myself fortunate to attend the Myer AW14 runway preview to get some autumnal inspiration.

Headlined by the lovely Jennifer Hawkins, the preview was the perfect prelude for what’s to come in store this season. Leather, lace, winter floral’s, winter whites, the perennial black, pops of eye catching colour, garments to take you from day to night, they were all there and it was quite the spectacle. The beauty of department store previews I’ve always found is that everything presented is  attainable.  So it was a treat to be a part of an event that hosts a wide variety of both local and international talent that are quite luxe but more importantly wearable…and it didn’t hurt that the atmosphere was so welcoming too. I enjoyed every minute of it.

Jennifer Hawkins Myer AW14
Jennifer Hawkins Myer AW14
Kris Smith, Jennifer Hawkins, Kate Peck Myer AW14
Kris Smith, Jennifer Hawkins, Kate Peck Myer AW14
Myer AW14
Myer AW14

After the show I was left to ponder wide-eyed, making many a mental note as to what I’d love to invest in for the season…a beautiful pink coat from Jayson Brunsdon, a delicate black lace dress from Fleur Wood, sculpted and frilled ladylike separates from Maticevski, even a pair of cute and playful pyjamas from Peter Alexander. The list was endless, but it does give me something to work towards…one piece at a time, and as my hip pocket can afford!

Leave a Reply

